Welcome to the World of Vedic Astrology

Today is the result of all your past karma ( Actions) and tomorrow is the continuation of the sum total of all your past and present. For every effect there is a definite cause. Vedic astrology reveals the cause and effect of your past present and future and indicates necessary corrections that need to be made. Through proper understanding and practicing alignment with the laws of nature, one gains the full support of the nature and the entire cosmic dynamics. Thus one becomes fulfilled of his own destiny.

Dr. Siju Muraleedharan

Vedic Astrology and Horoscope


Vedic astrology is about 7000 years old and the oldest branch of astrology known . This science has been mentioned in the Vedas and carried down through generations. Vedic Astrology uses a unique system of dasas and sub divisional charts that are different from Western Astrology. It can give astonishing results when an expert Vedic scholar reads your chart based on your correct date, place and time of birth


Siddantha : Siddhanta (Sanskrit) means 'conclusions arrived at last.' Jyotish Siddhanta means ultimate conclusions or understanding arrived at in astrology. This division deals with the application of the postulates or doctrines of astronomy to improve the understandings of astrology.

Samhita: Mundane astrology, predicting important events based on analysis of astrological dynamics in a country's horoscope or general transit events such as war, earth quakes, political events, financial positions, electional astrology; house and construction related matters (Vastu Shastra), animals, portents, omens etc.

Hora: Predictive astrology based on analysis of natal horoscopes and the moment a query is made.

The Hora or predictive astrology is further sub-divided into ten more branches:

  • 1) Natal Astrology (Hora Shastra or Jatak): Jatak (Sanskrit) means natal chart. Hora shastra deals with natal astrology or horoscopes of individuals.
  • 2) Electional Astrology (Muhurt or Muhurtha): Electional astrology deals with auspicious time best suitable according to individuals' horoscopes. Muhurt (Sanskrit) means auspicious time.
  • 3) Phonetical Astrology (Swar Shaastra): How sound will be helpful to individuals? Beneficial names and the syllables that sounds better from individuals' point of view.
  • 4) Horary Astrology (Prashna): Answering queries from individual, after consulting the Horoscope charted on the basis of the place and time on which it was asked.
  • 5) Numerology (Anijyotisha / Sankhya sastra): Merriam-Webster defines Numerology as "the study of the occult significance of numbers."Analysis and prediction of best names based on numerology principles.
  • 6) Nadi astrology: Nadi astrology is able to reveal the past, present and future of the individuals from the palm leaf manuscripts compiled and documented in Tamil Grantham by Sages and Rishis like Agastya, Kakabujanda etc.
  • 7) Almanac (Varsha Phal or Tajik Shaastra): Almanac or annual horoscopy based on Hindu calendar system (based on movement of sun, moon and planets).
  • 8) Jaimini Sutras: Maharishi Jaimini Sutras enable individual to predict time of events precisely within a fortnight / month.
  • 9) Lost Horoscopy (Nastjaatakam): This branch deals with the lost horoscopes. Guides the astrologer to trace and construct the lost horoscope.
  • 10) Female Astrology (Streejaatak): This branch is totally devoted with nativities of female.
The Basic Components of Vedic Astrology

The most basic elements of Vedic astrology are the nine planets or heavenly bodies and the twelve signs of the zodiac and the twelve houses of the chart. When studying Vedic astrology, it is important to become familiar with the Sanskrit words for all the main components. To begin with, let it be known that the words planets and "grahas" are synonymous. The twelve signs of the zodiac are called "rashis" and the houses are called "bhavas" or "sthanas" .

The nine planets used in Vedic astrology are :

Latest Posts


13 Jan 2018


07 Sep 2017


28 Aug 2017